Viktor Hovland’s Hole-in-One at the 2022 BMW Championship Results in BMW’s Donation of Full, Four-Year Evans Scholarship in His Name.

BMW Championship Hole-in-One Scholarship valued at $125,000, is the sixth to be awarded since 2007, and first since 2017.

Wilmington, DE – August 21, 2022… Viktor Hovland recorded a hole-in-one on the final day of play at the 2022 BMW Championship, resulting in BMW’s donation of the sixth BMW Championship Hole-in-One Evans Scholarship.  The full, four-year tuition and housing scholarship worth $125,000 will be awarded to an Evans Scholar in Hovland’s name later this year. Hovland aced the par-3 2nd hole on Sunday at Wilmington Country Club in Wilmington, DE with a 6-iron from 203 yards.  
The hole-in-one propelled Hovland to his best round of the tournament as he recorded a 65 on Sunday to finish at 2-under. In addition to his eagle on the 2nd, the Norwegian had five birdies on the day, including a 27-foot hole-out from the bunker on the 1st hole.
When told that his ace would trigger the donation, Hovland remarked: “That’s incredible. The hole-in-one obviously was nice for me, and while it didn’t move me up the leaderboard that much, for it to actually mean something is really cool. I hope that goes a long way.” 
All proceeds from the BMW Championship benefit the Evans Scholars Foundation, which provides full college scholarships to hardworking young caddies with financial need and strong academic records. Since 2007, BMW has contributed more than $40 million to the Evans Scholars Foundation. Hovland’s shot marks the sixth time BMW has awarded a Hole-in-One Scholarship.  Past recipients include:
Brooklyn Gabriel (2017): Awarded in honor of Jason Day, who aced the 17th hole in the second round of the 2017 BMW Championship at Conway Farms Golf Club in Lake Forest, IL. 
Hayden Bauschka (2015): Awarded in honor of Jordan Spieth, who aced the 2nd hole, his 11th hole of the day, in the first round of the 2015 BMW Championship at Conway Farms Golf Club in Lake Forest, IL.
Melyzjah Smith (2013): Awarded in honor of Hunter Mahan, who aced the par 3, 17th hole in the third round of the 2013 BMW Championship at Conway Farms Golf Club in Lake Forest, IL.
Mark Abtahi (2012): Awarded in honor of Steve Stricker, who aced the par 3, 6th hole in the second round of the 2012 BMW Championship at Crooked Stick Golf Club in Carmel, IN.
Haelena Schwemmer (2010): Awarded in honor of Sean O’Hair, who aced the par 3, 2nd hole in the second round of the 2010 BMW Championship at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont, IL.
“This generous contribution is one of many ways BMW shows its support for our mission of sending deserving young caddies to college,” said John Kaczkowski, President and CEO of the Western Golf Association and the Evans Scholars Foundation. “We’re grateful to have BMW as our title sponsor and partner, and we’re thrilled to use this donation to fund a full Evans Scholarship.”
For the upcoming school year, a record 1,100 Evans Scholars will attend 22 leading universities nationwide, including two caddies from Wilmington Country Club.
For updates during the 2022 BMW Championship, follow the conversation with:
  • Facebook:
  • Twitter: @BMWchamps, @PGATOUR, @WGAESF
  • Instagram: @BMWChamps, @PGATOUR, @BMWUSA
  • Hashtags: #BMWChamps #BMWGolf #PGATOUR #FedExCup, #LiveUnderPar
About the BMW Championship
The BMW Championship dates back to 1899 when it debuted as the Western Open, making it the third-oldest tournament on the PGA TOUR schedule, behind only the British Open and U.S. Open. BMW has sponsored the tournament since 2007 when it became the penultimate event of the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup Playoffs. The BMW Championship features a field of the top 70 players in the FedExCup standings to determine the final 30 players for the FedExCup final at the TOUR Championship in Atlanta. Since 2007, the BMW Championship has contributed more than $40 million to the Evans Scholars Foundation, the event’s charitable beneficiary. To learn more, visit
About the Western Golf Association
The Western Golf Association conducts six national golf championships and sponsors the nationally acclaimed Evans Scholars Foundation. Headquartered in Glenview, Illinois, the organization was founded in 1899 by 11 Chicago-area golf clubs to promote their interests in golf. In addition to the BMW Championship on the PGA TOUR and the NV5 Invitational presented by Old National Bank on the Korn Ferry Tour, the WGA conducts four prestigious amateur championships: the Western Amateur, the Western Junior, and the Women’s Western Golf Association’s Amateur and Junior championships.
About the Evans Scholars Foundation
Established by the WGA and famed amateur golfer Charles Chick Evans Jr., the Evans Scholars Foundation provides full housing and tuition scholarships to high-achieving caddies across the country. Currently, a record 1,100 caddies are enrolled in 22 universities across the nation as Evans Scholars. The Program, which is supported by the WGA, is funded by contributions from more than 33,500 Par Club members, including Evans Scholars Alumni, as well as proceeds from the BMW Championship. Since the Program’s inception in 1930, more than 11,800 caddies nationwide have graduated as Evans Scholars. To learn more, visit

Please Note

To the extent that historical press releases reference BMW Manufacturing Co. LLC as the manufacturer of certain X model vehicles, the referenced vehicles are manufactured in South Carolina with a combination of U.S origin and imported parts and components.