BMW And BMW M Team RLL Share a Winning History Laguna Seca.

Woodcliff Lake, N.J. – April 26, 2022 . . . BMW M Team RLL will compete for a second consecutive IMSA weekend in California, this time in Monterey at WeatherTech Laguna Seca Raceway. The No. 25 MOTUL BMW M4 GT3 will be driven by Connor De Phillippi and John Edwards, the pair still looking for their first podium finish of the season.
This past weekend, both drivers participated in the second round of the German series Nürburgring Endurance Series (NLS) racing two ROWE Racing BMW M4 GT3 machines in their first event at the legendary Nürburgring. De Phillippi and RLL endurance race co-driver Augusto Farfus won the four-hour race to cap a 1-2-3 finish for BMW’s new GT3 racing car. Fifth place went to the second ROWE Racing car with John Edwards, Sheldon van der Linde and Marco Wittmann behind the wheel.
BMW Team RLL has three GT class victories at the classic circuit. John Edwards co-drove to the win in both 2015 (with Lucas Luhr) and 2017 (with Martin Tomczyk). De Phillippi followed with the victory in 2018 (with Alexander Sims). With three events complete so far this season De Phillippi and Edwards stand sixth in GTD Pro points standings.
The 1975 IMSA season saw BMW’s first race at Laguna Seca. The 3.0 CSL racing program was the newly incorporated BMW of North America’s first marketing effort in the US and, celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, BMW M Motorsport’s very first racing program in North America. That first weekend in May of 1975 saw a young Hans Stuck take BMW’s second victory of the season in the second 100-lap heat of the event.
“I feel optimistic every time we go to Laguna Seca,” said Bobby Rahal, Team Principal and Indy Car winner at the track. “We were reasonably competitive at Long Beach and the latest BoP adjustments for this race do not appear to be too onerous. Connor and John have both won there in our cars, so we have to feel positive.”
Connor De Phillippi (BMW M Team RLL, No. 25 MOTUL BMW M4 GT3: “Laguna Seca is a place that has been great for us in the past, and I believe the strengths that the M4 GT3 has will shine bright with the high tire degradation at Laguna. At some point our luck has to turn around, so I’m excited to get back on track!”
The IMSA Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship Presented by Motul at WeatherTech Laguna Seca Raceway will take place April 29 – May 1. The two-hour-and-forty-minute street race will take the green flag at 3:10 p.m. ET Saturday, May 1. Coverage on NBC will begin at 3:00 p.m. ET. IMSA Radio also provides a flag-to-flag broadcast.

BMW Group in America
BMW of North America, LLC has been present in the United States since 1975. Rolls-Royce Motor Cars NA, LLC began distributing vehicles in 2003. The BMW Group in the United States has grown to include marketing, sales, and financial service organizations for the BMW brand of motor vehicles, including motorcycles, the MINI brand, and Rolls-Royce Motor Cars; Designworks, a strategic design consultancy based in California; a technology office in Silicon Valley and various other operations throughout the country. BMW Manufacturing Co., LLC in South Carolina is the BMW Group global center of competence for BMW X models and manufactures the X3, X4, X5, X6 and X7 Sports Activity Vehicles. The BMW Group sales organization is represented in the U.S. through networks of 350 BMW passenger car and BMW Sports Activity Vehicle centers,146 BMW motorcycle retailers, 105 MINI passenger car dealers, and 38 Rolls-Royce Motor Car dealers. BMW (US) Holding Corp., the BMW Group’s sales headquarters for North America, is located in Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey.
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

BMW’s partner, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Indianapolis, Indiana and co-owned by three-time INDYCAR Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, former CBS Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan, has been competing for over three decades. Prior to the start of their 31st season of competition in 2022, the team had compiled 54 victories, 66 poles, 222 podium finishes, three series championships (1992, 2010, 2011), claimed two Indianapolis 500 victories (Buddy Rice in 2004, Takuma Sato in 2020) and two Rolex 24 at Daytona victories. In 2009 the team joined BMW of North America to campaign the new BMW M3 in the American Le Mans Series. The following year the team won both the Manufacturer and Team Championships in the GT category and swept all three GT titles - Manufacturer, Team, and Driver – in 2011. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team, and Manufacturer Championship. From 2014 to 2021, BMW Team RLL competed in the GTLM class of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with a two-car program and brought their total to 22 wins – including the 2019 and 2020 Rolex 24 at Daytona endurance races, 28 poles and 94 podium finishes prior to the start of the 2022 season. The team earned second-place finishes in the Manufacturer, Team, and Driver championships in 2015 and 2017 and were the 2020 Michelin North American Endurance Champions. For 2022, BMW M Team RLL will compete in the GTD Pro class while simultaneously ramping up for a two-car program in the much-anticipated LMDh class of IMSA for 2023.
Journalist note: Information about BMW Group and its products in the USA is available to journalists on-line at and